Does God Care?

God cares about you!

How can you know God cares?

When you experience a season of hurt it is easy to question if God really cares.  I can say that He really does.  I say that carefully because I have experienced hurt.

Many times good meaning people say, “God cares about you and he will see you through.”  It doesn’t seem helpful in the moment.  But they are trying to figure out how they can help.

I have found encouragement as I read through Jesus’s last statements on the cross, specifically His third statement to His mother, Mary.

I get it, that may sound strange, but hear me out.  In Jesus’ statement to Mary from the cross, He was making provisions for His mother to be taken care after His death.  Jesus was the oldest son and it was His job to take care of His parents.

But why did Jesus choose the moment when He was suffering and dying on the cross to provide for His mother’s future?  Mary was around Jesus and His disciples.  Jesus could have made provisions earlier for Mary.  He chose the moment when He was suffering on the cross.

Why do I find this moment encouraging?  Because it reminds me how much God cares for me.  Even though Jesus suffering He took the time to take care of a basic need for His mother.

Jesus does care about us even if we don’t think He does.  

As I go through tough times, I think about the suffering and pain that Jesus took on Himself, I can see the heart of God.  God the creator of the universes provided a way in a sin broken world for us to be restored in a right relationship with Him.

“I have been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives in me. And the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.” Galatians 2:20


Leave a comment